FAQ: How Many Countries Were Members Of The European Union As Of May 2004?

Which countries joined the EU on the 1st of May 2004?

Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, and Slovenia became members on 1 May 2004, but some areas of cooperation in the European Union will apply to some of the EU member states at a later date.

What 10 countries joined the EU 2004?

The 10 are Poland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta and Cyprus.

How many countries were members of the European Union June 2003?

16 April – The Treaty of Accession 2003 is signed in Athens by the 15 current member nations of the European Union and Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

What countries joined the EU in 2007?

On 1 January 2007, Bulgaria and Romania became member states of the European Union ( EU ) in the fifth wave of EU enlargement.

You might be interested:  Question: What Made European Have A Population Jump In 1730?

Who joined EU in 2004?

1 May 2004 Eight countries of central and eastern Europe — Czechia, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia— join the EU, finally ending the division of Europe decided by the ‘Great Powers’ 60 years earlier at the Yalta Conference in the Crimea. Cyprus and Malta also become members.

What year Poland joined EU?

Poland has been a member of the European Union since 1 May 2004 under the Accession Treaty signed in Athens on 16 April 2003.

Did Norway leave the EU?

Norway is not a member state of the European Union (EU). Norway had considered joining both the EEC and the European Union, but opted to decline following referendums in 1972 and 1994.

Which countries are in European Union?

The EU countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

Who joined the EU in 2002?

The euro coins and notes enter into circulation in the twelve participating Member States: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain.

Which countries joined the EU in 2003?

The Treaty of Accession 2003 was the agreement between the member states of the European Union and ten countries (Czech Republic, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Slovenia, Slovakia), concerning these countries ‘ accession into the EU (see 2004 enlargement of the European Union ).

Why is the EU expanding?

These two principal forces, economic gain and political security, have been behind enlargements since. However, with the recent large enlargements in 2004, public opinion in Europe has turned against further expansion.

You might be interested:  Often asked: How Did The Writers Of The U.S. Constitution Defy European Tradition When Writing The Constitution?

How many countries were in the European Union in 2010?

26 March – At a European Council meeting in Brussels, EU leaders adopt Europe 2020 targets and all 16 eurozone countries back a plan to help Greece deal with its deficit.

Has any country left the EU?

Three territories of EU member states have withdrawn: French Algeria (in 1962, upon independence), Greenland (in 1985, following a referendum) and Saint Barthélemy (in 2012), the latter two becoming Overseas Countries and Territories of the European Union.

Which countries are not in the EU?

The European countries that are not members of the EU:

  • Albania*
  • Andorra.
  • Armenia.
  • Azerbaijan.
  • Belarus.
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina**
  • Georgia.
  • Iceland.

Why is Switzerland not in EU?

Switzerland signed a free-trade agreement with the then European Economic Community in 1972, which entered into force in 1973. However, after a Swiss referendum held on 6 December 1992 rejected EEA membership by 50.3% to 49.7%, the Swiss government decided to suspend negotiations for EU membership until further notice.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *