FAQ: Which Of The Following Is True About The European Commission?

Which statement about the EU is true?

The correct answer is D) The EU is the world’s largest economy. The correct statements about the EU “The EU is the world’s largest economy.” Twenty-eight countries are part of the European Union.

What does the EU Commission do?

The Commission helps to shape the EU’s overall strategy, proposes new EU laws and policies, monitors their implementation and manages the EU budget. It also plays a significant role in supporting international development and delivering aid.

Which of the following is the primary responsibility of the European Commission?

The European Commission is the executive of the European Union. This means that it is responsible for initiating laws, enforcing the laws of the EU and managing the EU’s policies. It is made up of 27 commissioners (one from each member state) and is based in Brussels.

You might be interested:  Often asked: What Was One Effect Of The Columbian Exchange On European Society?

Which of the following is the reason that Great Britain Denmark and Sweden have stayed out of the euro zone?

reluctance to be considered an optimal currency areaThe implied loss of national sovereignty to the European Central Bank (ECB) underlies the decision by Great Britain, Denmark, and Sweden to stay out of the euro zone.

What is the most common religion in Europe?

The largest religion in Europe is Christianity, but irreligion and practical secularisation are strong. Three countries in Southeastern Europe have Muslim majorities. Ancient European religions included veneration for deities such as Zeus.

What is the largest trading block in the world?

The countries involved in the agreement accounted for nearly 30% of global GDP in 2019, topping NAFTA as the world’s largest trade bloc (Figure 1). Figure 1: Percent of World GDP.

Region Percent of global GDP Year
NAFTA 26.5 2016
NAFTA 26 2017
NAFTA 25.8 2018
NAFTA 26.4 2019


How often does the European Commission meet?

Commissioners’ weekly meetings The College of Commissioners, comprised of the 27 Commissioners, meets as a general rule at least once per week. This weekly decision-making procedure is called the oral procedure. In practice, the Commissioners meet every Wednesday morning in Brussels.

What is the difference between the EU and the European Commission?

the European Parliament, which represents the EU’s citizens and is directly elected by them; the Council of the European Union, which represents the governments of the individual member countries. the European Commission, which represents the interests of the Union as a whole.

You might be interested:  Question: Which Of The Following Is Not A Result Of European Industrialization?

How are members of the European Commission elected?

The Commissioners are proposed by the Council of the European Union, on the basis of suggestions made by the national governments, and then appointed by the European Council after the approval of the European Parliament.

Which of the following is the primary responsibility of the European Commission quizlet?

Representing the EU internationally: Speaks on behalf of all Eu member countries in international bodies like WTO. Also negotiate international agreements for EU such as trade ect.

How does the European Commission make decisions?

Commission decides Depending on its level of political importance, an initiative for a new policy or law is either agreed on by the Commission during the Commissioners’ weekly meetings, using the oral procedure, or by written procedure.

What is the structure of the European Commission?

The Commission is steered by a group of 27 Commissioners, known as ‘the college’. Together they take decisions on the Commission’s political and strategic direction. A new college of Commissioners is appointed every 5 years.

Why the euro is bad?

By far, the largest drawback of the euro is a single monetary policy that often does not fit local economic conditions. It is common for parts of the EU to be prospering, with high growth and low unemployment. In contrast, others suffer from prolonged economic downturns and high unemployment.

Which country does not use the euro as its currency?

9. The number of EU countries that do not use the euro as their currency; the countries are Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: How To Find Cheap European Flights?

What are the advantages of using the euro?

Benefits of the Euro

  • Lower transaction costs.
  • Price transparency.
  • Eliminating exchange rate uncertainty.
  • Improved trade.
  • Improvement in inflation performance.
  • Low-interest rates.
  • Inward investment.
  • Benefits to the financial sector.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *