FAQ: Which Of The Following Is True Of The European Free Trade Association (efta)?

What is the purpose of the EFTA?

The European Free Trade Association ( EFTA ) is an intergovernmental organisation set up for the promotion of free trade and economic integration to the benefit of its four Member States – Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland – and the benefit of their trading partners around the globe.

What is the EFTA agreement?

The European Free Trade Association ( EFTA ) was established by a Convention signed in Stockholm on 4 January 1960. The main objective of the Association was to liberalise trade among its Member States, and the Convention thus contained basic rules regarding free trade in goods and related disciplines.

Who is EFTA?

The EFTA Member States are Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. The four EFTA States are competitive in several sectors vital to the global economy and score among the highest in the world in competitiveness, wealth creation per inhabitant, life expectancy and quality of life.

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: How To Dress Like A European Woman?

What is the EU free trade agreement?

The European Union negotiates free trade deals on behalf of all of its member states, as the member states have granted the EU has an “exclusive competence” to conclude trade agreements.

Is EU a free trade?

The EU has free trade agreements to varying levels with most other European countries. In addition to allowing for free trade between states, the customs union imposes a common external tariff on all goods entering the area.

What is the difference between EU and EFTA?

One of the main differences between EFTA and EU membership is that EFTA members are not part of the EU Customs Union. As EFTA states are not part of the EU Customs Union, they negotiate trade deals separately to the EU. As a bloc, they have negotiated 26 Free Trade Agreements with other countries worldwide.

Which countries are members of EFTA?

The 4 EFTA countries

  • Iceland.
  • Liechtenstein.
  • Norway.
  • Switzerland.

Is the UK and EFTA member?

The EEA EFTA States have agreed to treat the UK as an EU Member State during this period. Accordingly, the rights and obligations contained in the EEA Agreement continue to apply between the UK and the EEA EFTA States until 31 December 2020.


The United Kingdom and Denmark joined the EEC in 1973 and hence ceased to be EFTA members. Portugal also left EFTA for the European Community in 1986. Liechtenstein joined the EFTA in 1991 (previously its interests had been represented by Switzerland).

Why Switzerland is not in the EU?

Switzerland signed a free-trade agreement with the then European Economic Community in 1972, which entered into force in 1973. However, after a Swiss referendum held on 6 December 1992 rejected EEA membership by 50.3% to 49.7%, the Swiss government decided to suspend negotiations for EU membership until further notice.

You might be interested:  Often asked: What Affect Did Nationalism Have On European Affairs?

Is Albania part of EFTA?

In 2009, Albania signed an FTA with the European Free Trade Association ( EFTA ).

Can EU member states make trade deals?

Trade outside the EU is an exclusive responsibility of the EU, rather than the national governments of member countries. This means the EU institutions make laws on trade matters, negotiate and conclude international trade agreements.

Which country has the most free trade agreements?

Free Trade After its exit from the EU, the UK still has 35 trade agreements to its name, the highest after the EU countries. Next up were Iceland and Switzerland with 32 agreements, Norway with 31 and Liechtenstein and Chile with 30 trade deals. 6

Which countries does the UK have free trade agreements with?

Trade agreements in effect

Agreement Country Total UK trade with countries, 2020 (£ million) (2)
Ghana Ghana 869
Iceland and Norway Iceland 21,441 (total for Iceland and Norway)
Iceland and Norway Norway 21,441 (total for Iceland and Norway)
Israel Israel 4,829


Who does the UK have free trade agreements with?

On 31 January, the UK government announced it would apply to join a free trade area with 11 Asia and Pacific nations called the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP). Current members include Australia, Canada, Japan and New Zealand.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *