Quick Answer: What European Countries Have Dependencies In The West Indies?

What three European countries have dependencies in the West Indies?

France, Netherlands, & the U.K.

Which countries in the Caribbean are independent?

The following former British Caribbean island colonies achieved independence in their own right; Jamaica (1962), Trinidad & Tobago (1962), Barbados (1966), Bahamas (1973), Grenada (1974), Dominica (1978), St. Lucia (1979), St. Vincent (1979), Antigua & Barbuda (1981), St. Kitts & Nevis (1983).

How many countries and how many dependencies are located in the Lesser Antilles?

The Lesser Antilles are divided into eight independent nations and numerous dependent and non-sovereign states ( which are politically associated with the United Kingdom, France, the Netherlands, and the United States).

How many dependencies are in the Caribbean?

There are 13 sovereign states and 17 dependent territories in the Caribbean, and the predominant languages are English, Spanish, French, Dutch and Antillean creole. The Caribbean sprawls across more than 1.06 million square miles and is primarily located between North America and South America.

You might be interested:  FAQ: What Is The European Counterpart To A T1 Line?

Are West Indies Indian?

The population of the West Indies is ethnically heterogeneous and largely the legacy of an early plantation society based on slave labour. Most of the population is descended from enslaved Africans or from Spanish, French, British, or Dutch colonists or is of mixed ethnicity.

Why West Indies is not a country?

The West Indies are a subregion of North America, surrounded by the North Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean Sea that includes 13 independent island countries and 18 dependencies and other territories in three major archipelagos: the Greater Antilles, the Lesser Antilles, and the Lucayan Archipelago.

What are the 13 Caribbean countries?

The boundary nations of the Caribbean Sea are Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, United States, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St.

Which Caribbean country is not independent?

Currently, Montserrat, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, and the Turks and Caicos Islands remained crown colonies with limited internal self-government.

Who owns Caribbean islands?

Countries and territories

Country or territory Sovereignty Status
United States Virgin Islands United States Territory
British Virgin Islands United Kingdom British overseas territory
Anguilla United Kingdom British overseas territory
Cayman Islands United Kingdom British overseas territory


Which island nation is the largest in the West Indies?

The statistic shows the largest island countries and territories in the Caribbean, based on land area. Cuba is the largest island country in the Caribbean sea, with a total area of almost 111 thousand square kilometers, followed by the Dominican Republic, with nearly 49 thousand square kilometers.

You might be interested:  Often asked: (mc)how Did The Dawes Plan Increase The Stability Of European Nations?

What does Antilles mean in English?

plural noun a chain of islands in the West Indies, divided into two parts, the one including Cuba, Hispaniola, Jamaica, and Puerto Rico (Greater Antilles ), the other including a large arch of smaller islands to the SE and S (Lesser Antilles, or Caribees ).

Why is it called Lesser Antilles?

The Windward Islands and the Leeward Islands make up the Lesser Antilles of the Caribbean. The Windward Islands got their name because they’re exposed to the wind (“windward”) of the northeast trade winds (northeasterlies).

What are the 26 Caribbean countries?

How Many Of The 26 Caribbean Countries Have You Heard Of?

  • Anguilla.
  • Antigua and Barbuda – Travel Republic Low Holiday Deposit Available*
  • Aruba.
  • The Bahamas.
  • Barbados – Travel Republic Low Holiday Deposit Available*
  • British Virgin Islands.
  • Cayman Islands – Travel Republic Low Holiday Deposit Available*
  • Cuba – Travel Republic Low Holiday Deposit Available*

What race is Caribbean?

As a general rule, one can state that the Caribbean culture is predominantly a mixture of Afro European, namely African and Spanish, English, French, Dutch, Portuguese. As a result, the new cultural formations are rich and new cultural hybrid forms, in which the origins of various elements are clearly recognizable.

Which country is a dependent territory in the Caribbean?

Dependent territories

Name Country Capital
Anguilla United Kingdom The Valley
Aruba Netherlands Oranjestad
British Virgin Islands United Kingdom Road Town
Cayman Islands United Kingdom George Town

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *