Readers ask: What European Countries Border The Mediterranean Sea?

How many countries share border with Mediterranean Sea?

The Mediterranean Sea region — the largest of the semi-enclosed European seas — is surrounded by 22 countries, which together share a coastline of 46 000 km. It is also home to around 480 million people living across three continents: Africa, Asia and Europe.

Does the Mediterranean sea border Europe?

The region enclosing the Mediterranean Sea encompasses portions of three continents: Europe and its southern peninsulas to the north, southwestern Asia to the east, and the Maghreb region of northern Africa to the south.

What European country borders France and Mediterranean Sea?

France borders Belgium and Luxembourg in the northeast, Germany, Switzerland, and Italy in the east, the Mediterranean Sea, Monaco, Spain, and Andorra in the south.

Which countries bordering the Mediterranean Sea are members of the EU?

The EU countries are Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Greece and Cyprus. The non- EU countries are Albania, Montenegro, Bosnia-Herzegovina (with coasts on the Adriatic Sea ) and Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Gaza Strip, Egypt, Libya (with coasts on the Aegean and /or Levantine Seas ).

You might be interested:  What Are The Main Elements Of European Chivalry?

Are there sharks in the Mediterranean Sea?

Mediterranean sea is thought to be home for 47 shark species like:Angelshark,Blue shark,Great white shark,Kitefin shark,Longfin mako,Sandbar shark,Scalloped hammerhead,Great hammerhead,Shortnose spurdog,Thresher shark. The most dangerous one is the Great White,however they are seen seldomly.

Is Portugal considered a Mediterranean country?

Geographically, Portugal is not a Mediterranean country as it does not have any coastline in the Mediterranean. However, most of its country has a very clear continental Mediterranean climate (hot and dry summers, cool winters) with some Atlantic influence by the coast.

Which countries does not border the Mediterranean Sea?

Which country does not border the Mediterranean Sea – Malta, Lebanon, or Iran? Answer: Iran.

Why is it called Mediterranean?

The term Mediterranean derives from the Latin mediterraneus, ‘inland’ (medius, ‘middle’ + terra, ‘land, earth’), in Greek “mesogeios”. It was, for example, commonly called Mare Nostrum (Latin, Our Sea), and occasionally Mare Internum by the Romans.

Which country borders France the most?

The border is located between the Brazilian state of Amapá and the French region of French Guiana. It is 730 kilometres (450 mi) in length. It is the longest border France shares with another country, the one with Belgium being next at 657 kilometres (408 mi).

Does France touch the Mediterranean?

The countries surrounding the Mediterranean in clockwise order are Spain, France, Monaco, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Greece, Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, and Morocco; Malta and Cyprus are island countries in the sea.

What country shares France’s shortest border?

Luxembourg Present-day Luxembourg emerged from the Congress of Vienna in 1815, and today it is one of the smallest countries in Europe. Luxembourg is landlocked, sharing borders with France, Belgium, and Germany.

You might be interested:  Question: How European Royal Families Maintain Royal Purity?

Who owns Mediterranean Sea?

Mediterranean Shipping Company

Net income $6.16 billion (2014)
Owner Gianluigi Aponte
Number of employees 28,000 (2014)
Subsidiaries MSC Cruises


Why is the Mediterranean Sea so blue?

Why is the Mediterranean so perfectly blue in colour? Well, the Mediterranean Sea is a little similar. It is lacking in a number of nutrients that lead to plant growth in other seas and oceans (causing that more familiar green-brown colour that is so unattractive), and as such it retains its wonderful blue hue.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *